Dr. Russ
dr-russ.at

deutsch

english

slovenski

hrvatski


Homepage english

Business card

Varicose veins

Complications

Spider-burst (Capillaries)

Venous leg ulcers

Venous stasis dermatitis

Frequently Asked Questions

How to find my office

Visit to the jungle


Spider-burst (Capillaries)

Spider-bursts in the legs are a specific form of varicose veins. Cosmetically they may be very disturbing for the patient, and are not easy to treat. The patient develops bunches of “black-and-blue marks”, for instance, in the external aspect of the thigh, with “flames” extending upward, or stellate and fan-shaped enlarged capillaries.

In one third of cases the ultrasound investigation provides no further information. However, in two thirds of cases one finds marked feeding veins. Bunches of spider-bursts adhere to these veins like the tuft at the end of a lion’s tail. Spider-bursts in the inner aspect of the knee may be the first sign of varicose veins arising from the groin. The treatment usually consists of three steps. First, the larger afferent veins must be removed surgically. As a rule this is done on an out-patient basis, using local anaesthesia. Quite often, microsurgery by the hook technique is sufficient. The second step concerns very small afferent veins. These are eliminated, or sclerosed, by injection. The patient needs to wear a compression bandage for two days.  
Click: Spider-burst / Capillaries
Click: Spider-burst / Capillaries
  The third and final step concerns the spider-burst itself. In the past one used sclerosing injections for this purpose as well. The procedure was occasionally successful and failed now and then. Besides, the risk was that some of the injected substance would miss the target and the patient would develop persistent brown spots on the leg. Spider-bursts can be eliminated in a much better way by means of Neodym YAG-LASER: the application of a specific wavelength of light causes the laser ray to deliver its energy mainly to the red blood cells and, by this detour, damages the adjoining wall of the extended capillaries. Warmth, carefully dosed and exactly applied in a specific location, solders the spider-burst.

It is important to know that laser impulses are perceived as pinpricks. Browned or tanned skin is not sufficiently transparent and is therefore a hindrance to laser treatment.

In general, Laser treatment is a tightrope walk between insufficient application and burns. Even when used carefully, small fissures may occur in some cases, but heal within a few weeks without leaving any traces.


The course of treatment for a spider-burst

Click: Spider-burst treatment 1
Click: Spider-burst treatment 2
Click: Spider-burst treatment 3
Click: Spider-burst treatment 4
1.) Spider-burst at the initial examination
2.) Typical reddening immediately after the laser treatment
3.) A few days later the laser-treated spider-burst might be more noticeable than it was before the treatment
4.) Preliminary result after about 3 months

Laser treatment is a means of removing any blood flow through spider-bursts. However, the fine walls of the vessels remain in the skin – like shadows of the original condition. Therefore, one should rightly anticipate an improvement of about 50% as far as the success of treatment is concerned. With additional treatment at intervals of 1 to 2 years, however, one may expect nearly complete cure of the condition over a longer period of time.

Dr. Russ © 2014

Dr. Russ
dr-russ.at

deutsch

english

slovenski

hrvatski


Homepage deutsch

Visitenkarte

Varizen / Krampfadern

Komplikationen

Besenreiser / Kapillaren

Venöse Beingeschwüre

Venöse Stauungsekzeme

Häufig gestellte Fragen

Anfahrt

Besuch im Urwald


Besenreiser (Kapillaren)

Besenreiservenen an den Beinen sind eine besondere Form von Krampfadern, kosmetisch oft sehr störend und nicht einfach zu behandeln. Büschelweise konzentriert bilden sie "blaue Flecken", an der Aussenseite des Oberschenkels nach oben gerichtete "Flammen".

In einem Drittel der Fälle ergibt die Untersuchung per Ultraschall sonst nichts, in zwei Drittel jedoch kommen grössere, zuführende Venen zutage, an welchen die Besenreiserbüschel dran sitzen wie die Quaste am Schwanz des Löwen. An der Innenseite des Knies schliesslich können Besenreiser erstes Anzeichen eines von der Leiste ausgehenden Krampfadernleidens sein. Die Behandlung erfolgt meist in drei Stufen. Zuerst müssen die grösseren, zuführenden Venen operativ beseitigt werden, in der Regel ambulant und in Lokalanästhesie. Dabei genügt oft ein mikrochirurgischer Eingriff per Häckchentechnik. Der zweite Schritt betrifft kleinste zuführende Venen: Sie werden mittels Injektionen beseitigt (verödet). Dafür ist jeweils ein Kompressionsverband für zwei Tage erforderlich.  
Anklicken: Besenreiser / Kapillaren
Anklicken: Besenreiser / Kapillaren
  Erst der dritte und letzte Schritt betrifft die Besenreiser selbst. In der Vergangenheit wurde auch dabei mit Sklerosierungsinjektion vorgegangen - mit wechselndem Erfolg und mit der Gefahr, dass etwas vom Injektionsmittel "danebengeht" und hartnäckige bräunliche Flecken entstehen. Viel besser beseitigen lassen sich Besenreiser mit dem Neodym YAG-LASER: durch die Anwendung einer bestimmten Lichtwellenlänge wird erreicht, dass der LASER-Strahl seine Energie vorwiegend an die roten Blutkörperchen abgibt und auf diesem Umweg die anliegende Wand der erweiterten Kapillare schädigt. Wirksam wird somit Wärme, die wohldosiert und genau plaziert die Besenreiser verlötet.

Wichtig zu wissen: Die LASER-Impulse werden wie Nadelstiche wahrgenommen und gebräunte Haut ist nicht ausreichend durchscheinend und somit für die LASER-Behandlung ein Hindernis.

Insgesamt ist die LASER-Behandlung eine Gratwanderung zwischen ungenügender Anwendung und Verbrennung. Auch bei sorgfältigem Vorgehen können bisweilen kleine Schrunden auftreten, die in einigen Wochen spurlos abheilen.


Verlauf einer Besenreiser-Behandlung

Anklicken: Besenreiser-Behandlung 1

Anklicken: Besenreiser-Behandlung 2

Anklicken: Besenreiser-Behandlung 3

Anklicken: Besenreiser-Behandlung 4
1.) Besenreiser bei der Erstuntersuchung

2.) Typische Rötung, unmittelbar nach der Laser-Behandlung

3.) Einige Tage später können die mit Laser behandelten Besenreiser auffälliger sein als vor der Behandlung

4.) Vorläufiges Endergebnis nach knapp 3 Monaten

Durch die LASER-Behandlung wird erreicht, dass die Besenreiser kein Blut mehr führen. Die feinen Gefässwände bleiben aber in der Haut, wie Schatten des ursprünglichen Zustandes. Man sollte sich deshalb mit der Erfolgserwartung auf eine 50%-ige Besserung einstellen. Mit Ergänzungsbehandlungen in Abständen von 1 bis 2 Jahre ist allerdings über einen längeren Zeitraum eine nahezu vollständige Beseitigung zu erreichen.

Dr. Russ © 2014